Nexstar Broadcasting to Host Exclusive Multi-Market Live Telecast of Virtual Town Hall with Indiana Senators and Congressional Delegation on Thursday, April 30

Indiana’s U.S. Senators and Eight U.S. Representatives Will Address Federal Response to Coronavirus Outbreak


Nexstar Brings Together More Than Four Million Viewers Across 69 Counties of Indiana via Television Broadcast and Livestream Video


INDIANAPOLIS, IN and IRVING, Texas – Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Nexstar Media Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: NXST), announced today that it will host an exclusive live virtual Town Hall meeting, “IN Focus: A Coronavirus Town Hall,” featuring both of Indiana’s U.S. Senators and eight members of Indiana’s delegation to the U.S. House Representatives on Thursday, April 30, 2020, at 7:00 p.m. ET.  The Town Hall will include U.S. Sen. Todd Young (R), U.S. Sen. Mike Braun (R), U.S. Rep. Jackie Walorski (R-2), U.S. Rep. Jim Banks (R-3), U.S. Rep. Jim Baird (R-4), U.S. Rep. Susan Brooks (R-5), U.S. Rep. Greg Pence (R-6), U.S. Rep. Andre Carson (D-7), U.S. Rep. Larry Bucshon (R-8) and U.S. Rep. Trey Hollingsworth (R-9), who will address the federal response to the coronavirus pandemic and take questions from viewers across Indiana.  Due to restrictions on large gatherings, the senators and representatives will remotely join the broadcast and livestream.

The one-hour virtual Town Hall will be hosted from the studios of WXIN-TV and WTTV-TV in Indianapolis, IN, and bring together more than four million viewers in 69 counties across Indiana via live television broadcast and livestream video. The live broadcast will air from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. ET, and the livestream will continue until 8:30 p.m. ET.  Viewers can submit their questions at

The television broadcast will be hosted by FOX59 anchor and political affairs reporter Dan Spehler, along with FOX59 anchors Fanchon Stinger and Beairshelle Edmé, and will air on five Nexstar stations, including WXIN-TV (FOX) and WTTV-TV (CBS) in Indianapolis, WEHT-TV (ABC) in Evansville, WANE-TV (CBS) in Ft. Wayne, and WAWV-TV (ABC) in Terre Haute.  The Town Hall will also air on WBND-TV (ABC) in South Bend.  Local viewers may access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting the website of their local Nexstar television station (see table below for list of participating stations and station website links).

The Town Hall will open with Mr. Spehler providing a recap of the latest developments in the pandemic.  The hosts will then pose questions to Senator Mike Braun, followed by an interview with Senator Todd Young recorded earlier that day.  The broadcast will then move to interviews with the participating representatives and feature questions submitted by viewers.

“When viewers need critically important information and want to interact with their federal legislative leaders, they know they can turn to Nexstar’s local television stations as a trusted source of news,” said Tim Busch, President of Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.  “The unprecedented unique format of this Town Hall will bring together viewers across the state of Indiana, providing them with the latest information about the federal response to the coronavirus outbreak and an opportunity to ask questions.  We are proud to harness the combined resources of our local station operations throughout Indiana to bring this exclusive virtual Town Hall to our viewers.  We are grateful to each of these representatives and senators for their participation and for allowing Nexstar to serve as the host of this special event.”

U.S. Representatives from Indiana Virtual Town Hall Television Broadcast and Livestream

Thursday, April 28, 2020

7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET


Hosts: Dan Spehler, Fanchon Stinger and Beairshelle Edmé, Anchors, WXIN-TV


  • S. Sen. Mike Braun (R)
  • S. Sen. Todd Young (R)
  • S. Rep. Jackie Walorski (R-2)
  • S. Rep. Jim Banks (R-3)
  • S. Rep. Jim Baird (R-4)
  • S. Rep. Susan Brooks (R-5)
  • S. Rep. Greg Pence (R-6)
  • S. Rep. Andre Carson (D-7)
  • S. Rep. Larry Bucshon (R-8)
  • S. Rep. Trey Hollingsworth (R-9)

Town Hall will be carried on the following stations and websites:

Station Network Market Station Website Social
WXIN-TV FOX Indianapolis @FOX59
WTTV-TV CBS Indianapolis @CBS4Indy
WEHT-TV ABC Evansville @WEHTWTVWlocal
WAWV-TV ABC Terre Haute @WTWOnews
WBND-TV ABC South Bend @ABC57News

Note: In addition to the live television broadcast, viewers may also access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting their local participating Nexstar station’s website.

About Nexstar Media Group, Inc.

Nexstar Media Group is a leading diversified media company that leverages localism to bring new services and value to consumers and advertisers through its traditional media, digital and mobile media platforms. Nexstar owns, operates, programs or provides sales and other services to 196 television stations and related digital multicast signals reaching 114 markets or approximately 38% of all U.S. television households (reflecting the FCC’s UHF discount). Nexstar’s portfolio includes primary affiliates of NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, MyNetworkTV and The CW. Nexstar’s community portal websites offer additional hyper-local content and verticals for consumers and advertisers, allowing audiences to choose where, when and how they access content while creating new revenue opportunities. Nexstar also owns WGN America, a growing national general entertainment cable network and a 31.3% ownership stake in TV Food Network, a top tier cable asset.  For more information please visit

Media Contact:

Jerry Walsh

Vice President of Local Content Development

Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.

585/287-8084 or


Gary Weitman

EVP & Chief Communication Officer

Nexstar Media Group, Inc.

312/222-3394 or


Joseph Jaffoni, Jennifer Neuman


212/835-8500 or


© 1998-2024, Nexstar Media Group, Inc. | All rights reserved